Kelly Coultas Photography

Go and Smell the Lilacs

Well, so much for good intentions!  I can’t believe how fast this year is going by and how long ago I wrote my last post. And yet, in some ways I may be slowing down even more. Lately I have felt myself become overwhelmed with feelings of inadequacy and lack of creativity. For some artistic sorts, the creative juices never seem to stop; for me, there is definitely an ebb and flow. I have learned that sometimes it’s just best to put the camera down and walk away for awhile.

I recently read a post by my favorite blogger, David DuChemin (http://davidduchemin.com/ ), that talked about getting caught up in social media and comparisons of work. He said, very truthfully, that we need to get out more and be creative for ourselves, not others. But sometimes there is another step that comes first. Sometimes we just need to give ourselves a break completely. Put down the camera, the paintbrush, the pen, the instrument, and walk away. Walk in the woods, or on the beach, or just out in the backyard. Follow the advice of another favorite of mine, the Roaming Gnome from Travelocity, and “go and smell the roses” (you really don’t have to get on a plane, and yes, I do take advice from gnomes). In my case, it will be the lilacs, which are in full bloom in the yard. So I am going to grab a cold drink and head out, leaving my camera on the shelf, and I am not going to feel guilty about that at all. It’s sunny and the lilacs are calling.

The lilacs are calling

Go and smell the lilacs.

This entry was published on May 14, 2014 at 2:55 PM. It’s filed under Art, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

