Kelly Coultas Photography

Reflections on a Difficult Year

I have been racking my brain trying to come up with something profound, encouraging, or educational for a New Year’s Eve post, but all I can come up with is Wow, I didn’t do too well in the blogging department last year! So I cheated a bit and chose to post this today and at least get off to a decent start for 2014. One down, hopefully many more to follow. For those who are following my blog, thank you for sticking with it!

I have been looking back through last year’s work, as many photographers do at yearend. I thought I would be disappointed as I just haven’t shot that much, but I was a little surprised (in a good way) to discover that I actually did make some progress. These photos are a few of my favorites, chosen in part because they represent some of the things I’ve learned this year.

Textures have been a part of my work for several years now, but this year I really started to rely on my own, using not only those that are photos I have taken but also trying my hand at painting textures. It has been fun, educational, and a nice change of pace. One of our cats even got in on the painting, adding a few pawprints to the final product!

In the past, I have admired the Orton Effect in the work of others but have never really done much with it. The same is true of landscape photography. This year, I found a way to make the two work together for me, which in turn makes me want to get out more.

Pixel Bender seems to be very popular now and I like the way some people are using it. Alas, I have such old programs and operating systems that I can’t use it. But thanks to some online tips, I finally figured out how to get a similar look myself in my ancient PSE program.

I have a long way to go, and in photography, there is always something more to learn, but in retrospect, maybe this wasn’t such a bad year after all.

I am hoping to be much more active here this coming year and would welcome any suggestions as to what you would like to see. In the meantime,I wish all of you a very happy 2014!

Favorite images of 2013

A small collection of some of my 2013 favorite images.

This entry was published on January 1, 2014 at 1:33 PM. It’s filed under Art, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Reflections on a Difficult Year

  1. Marcie Lewis on said:

    You too Kelly !!! Here is hoping your new year is filled with wonderful moments that you will be able to capture and share !! Looking forward to it

  2. Kristy on said:

    Here’s to 2014! I look forward to some new and wonderful photo adventures with you!

Leave a Reply

